vintage graters in the kitchen

vintage cheese graters

vintage cheese graters

Vintage kitchenware is one of the easiest things to start collecting. You never know when you will find something from early last century haphazardly pushed into a cardboard box next to someone’s Mickey Mouse plate.

I found these graters at two different shops for less than $1 and later discovered that they can fetch anywhere from $7-$40 on eBay. The markings tell me that the one on the right, “The Perfect Grater,” was made in the 1930’s. The “All-in-One,” on the left, can be found online for as little as $3, though I am unable to trace its origins. The Bean House Store has a lot of three vintage graters for $12. You can display them, resell them, make art or hell, maybe use them to grate some cheese.

I like the way they used vintage tin containers and pegs to hang the graters on.

Another easy collection to start for the kitchen: vintage Pyrex dishes. Look for some of my gems in an upcoming post.

4 responses to “vintage graters in the kitchen

  1. Oh dear, kitchen collectibles are my weakness… I collect pyrex (mainly casserole and refrigerator dishes), ice cream scoops, Mikasa creamer & sugar sets, any outdated gadget/implement (like old egg whisks) and the list goes on and on. I think I have at least 5 sets of complete dishware from the 1950s, all in different patterns. One thing I haven’t gotten into is cheese graters… they’ll be next on my list now! 🙂

  2. I have a Pyrex problem! I have so much now that I don’t even know what to do with it. I’m thinking of constructing a shelf in the kitchen purely for my bowls… what’s sad is that I don’t even cook! Thanks for the comment!

  3. I collect strainers and bundt pans… they take up more room… unfortunately

  4. Welcome to the Buy French Pottery Store!
    Shop our exclusive collection of handcrafted items. Our popular garlic grater plate comes in 4 unique designs. Our catalog features handmade items from France as well as other regions of the world.
    grater plate

Something to say?

