new house bbq

heating it up

heating it up

Ok and I had our first BBQ in the new apartment this past Labor Day. About twenty people showed up for drinks and my first time manning the grill (with huge help– okay, with most of the work being done by the hostess-with-the-mostest, my friend Kate.) It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be and only the chicken thighs needed to be returned to the grill for further cooking.

The BBQ was the perfect occasion to put my vintage dishware to use. I’m positive no one noticed it but me but I still took some pleasure in being the chick that actually uses the nice dishware instead of locking it in a china hutch like my Gram. By the second hour of the party, my carefully curated tabletop had deteriorated into something out of a picnic at the park and my vase of gladiolas disappeared somewhere in the pantry and I was too busy with the grill to straighten things up like I wanted to, but a good time was had by all. The dishes were done and the table cleared by my best friend Aziza, who no one should ever go with out for a party! Ok and I were left with nothing to do but mop the next morning, which leaves me in good standing with him when I beg for another party before the warm weather leaves us.

A few photos from the talented Temi Kujore, our good friend who brought Pimm’s and plantains to the party.

aziza gets the burgers ready

aziza gets the burgers ready

back porch conversations

back porch conversations

finally my old-school union hall benches get some action

finally my old-school union hall benches get some action

dave and kristen

dave and kristen

miss syd... and my dirty windows!

miss syd... and my dirty windows!

new parents!

new parents!

before the flowers left the table

before the flowers left the table

chibueze, always with blue cup in hand

chibueze, always with blue cup in hand

i must have taken this one- temi & ronke

i must have taken this one- temi & ronke

the gorgeous tanisha... and chi

the gorgeous tanisha... and chi

americas next top...

america's next top...

beautiful ronke

beautiful ronke

i knew i painted the kitchen bright turquoise for a reason

i knew i painted the kitchen bright turquoise for a reason

syd and i

syd and i

my gorgeous husband

my gorgeous husband

max smile

max smile

kate and one of the twins

kate and one of the twins

look at that face!

look at that face!

max

max

outside in

outside in

good night!

good night!

One response to “new house bbq

  1. Pingback: thanksgiving at my house «

Something to say?

