inspiration: necessity is the mother of invention

I’ve posted about my mother-in-law’s home in Nigeria, but needed to share again with new information on how she put together her children’s play room.

Sheila Walker writes:
“It was great to see the kids’ play table again! It was a bunch of wood sides from a crate, nailed together. I painted it red, then had a piece of Formica glued to the top. The light overhead was a plain market basket that I painted white, and I had an electrician put a light bulb fixture inside, so the light would shine down on the surface. The little baskets and wooden bowls for their Lego and stuff came from the local, traditional market. As they say, necessity is the mother of invention!”

This inspires me to use what I have in the New Year, instead of easily partaking in conspicuous consumption. I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions, but this is something we can all strive towards going forward, don’tcha think?

2 responses to “inspiration: necessity is the mother of invention

  1. OMG…those kids are so adorable!!!!!!!!

  2. Cutest would be my dear husband, on the right side of the table next to the window 🙂

Something to say?

