positive friday

Dedicated to Okunola

Happy Friday!  I’m closing out the first week in February with lots of good things on the horizon.  Spring is definitely not right around the corner in Chicago but we’re inching closer and closer and I swear I can taste the fresh warm air if I think on it hard enough.

The word of the weekend is: shoot!

I started a photography class at the Chicago Photography Academy this week and the first assignment is to shoot 36 pictures of a Chicago block and to tell a particular story with my photos.  The rules of the assignment?  No deleting!

Not only am I doing homework for the first time in years but it looks like I’ll be cheating, too.

I’m really excited because I love cities and this is a neat opportunity to see how other people in the class view Chicago. I’m planning on taking pics along Division St. in Humboldt Park.

If I was in Milwaukee, I’d shoot Center St. in the Riverwest neighborhood of my youth (pictured). 

If I was in New Orleans this weekend, you know where I’d be: 
Bourbon St., WHO DAT?

What block in your city would you head to? What story am I telling anyways? I guess I’ll figure it out when I get there. Have a beautiful weekend!

6 responses to “positive friday

  1. Wow, I love the prospect of that assignment. As big and wonderful and beautiful as LA is, I’ve really been thinking about doing a pictorial of Central Avenue and all of the historical places within this area.

    It’s the birthplace of LA’s jazz movement and the heart of the where black LA was centered in the 40s and 50s. If you’re familiar with Easy Rawlins, it’s where he lived in Devil In A Blue Dress.

    Anyway, that’s where I would head.

    • Mosely is one of my favorite authors! I’ve read every single Easy Rawlins novel and I love how beautifully he captures LA during that time period. Never even thought to check out the real area when I visited LA. I would love to see your photos!

  2. Well, as a former Center St. resident, I couldn’t agree more…no place in Milwaukee has quite the same vibe…

  3. Yes indeed….such a street exists nowhere else in this fair city. Wish you were telling your story here!

  4. I’d shoot Ashland…all of it. I know that wasn’t the rule…it was a block…but all of Ashland intrigues me. I typically drive from 79th all the way up to 31st…i like how it changes like 2 or 3 times by both socio-economic class and race…the Harold’s The Fried Chicken King White Chicken Caddy typically sits on the corner of 68th and Ashland…perhaps I’d shoot that block if I had to choose just one…

Something to say?

