and… spray paint… again

I think I should go ahead and change the name of this here blog to “Spray Painted Casita,” ’cause I can’t stop doing it.

I bought this dresser on Craigslist about a year ago and it caused quite a stir in the Jeyifo household. The very next day, a friend of mine came upon a large bureau. He gave me a call and offered it up for free. Since I can’t say no to free anything, I gave him a hearty thank you and phoned my husband, who told me unequivocally: No More Dressers. I hemmed and hawed, saying I had uses for all of them and well, it only takes a little paint to render even the ugliest dresser usable. I lost the fight after conceding that we had absolutely no space for a fourth empty dresser in the apartment and surprise, surprise… This ugly piece sat in the room-where-things-go-to-die for over twelve months.

Better late than never though, right? I used my muscles to sand this baby down on Friday night and commenced painting Sunday morning. A can and a half of blue-gray Ace brand spray paint and she’s good as new.

Apologies for the dark photo. Our bedroom is cave-like and natural light just doesn’t exist in there. What looks like a mar on the upper left drawer is just an illusion; I went back and checked the darn thing after viewing this photo to see if I had scratched it in my haste to bring it indoors.

Moral of the story? The next time you see a super hideous dresser with stars and fish painted on the top for $35, buy it. Just try not to collect them and don’t let it sit for a year before you put in work.

17 responses to “and… spray paint… again

  1. This has totally inspired me to finally get around to refinishing the card catalog cabinets my mom (we’re a family of librarians) scored for me a couple of years ago. I’ve been dreading sanding all the little drawers and taking off the hardware. What do you use to sand?

    • Card catalogs! So jealous! Every time I see them in antique stores I swoon. I use sandpaper blocks– like these little guys: http://abrapowerusa.com/products/standard-block.html

      I’m not sure if that’s the best product to use but it has really worked well for me. It look me about forty-five minutes to sand and about fifteen to paint. The big trouble was moving the thing around. My back is still killing me 🙂

  2. is it just me or do you get paint in your nose hairs when u spray paint? i painted some stuff outside last week and it wasn’t *that* windy but i still managed to turn my nose hairs silver.

  3. Wow! You are really skilled with the spray paint. That’s a technique I have yet to try. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Kim from Milwaukee

    A year? hahahahaha mine’s been sitting for about 10 years, half done! I keep thinking I’m going to do some fancy shmancy technique on it, so there it sits, half stripped of its ugly brown paint.

    You’ve inspired me to just get a can of spraypaint and do it, already!

  5. Pingback: spray painted plastic frames «

  6. Pingback: getting serious about organizing: cool shelves «

  7. Pingback: inspiration: my step-mom’s house «

  8. Pingback: do you have dirty (house) secrets? «

  9. Pingback: chicago’s spray paint ban is really irritating |

  10. Pingback: bedroom update: painted floors! |

  11. All you have to do is sand the wood and then spray it? That’s it? No sealant or anything afterwards?

  12. Pingback: saturday, done: new bedroom in the new apartment | urban casita

Something to say?

