a memoir based on your stuff

While in DC last week my mother-in-law mentioned an author who recently passed away and told me about her memoir, which was written in an interesting way. The author went through items in her home and detailed where they came from, maybe a story about purchasing or receiving them as gifts, and what they meant to her. I think this is a fascinating and fun way to weave a story of a life and I’d like to ask you to participate in the same.

Here’s how I envision this working:
You email me a photo of an item in your home, be it a dish, a chair, a dress, a framed photograph, a pair of earrings, a book, whatever you want. You tell me where it’s from, its history, why it means so much to you and whatever else you want to include. For bonus points, include a photo of yourself.

As you can see from the post below this one, my husband and I were in DC for a sad occasion: the loss of his grandmother, Mrs. Charlotte Walker. I never had the opportunity to meet Mrs. Walker but I feel like I know her very well; not just because her grandson is my husband and her daughter the best mother-in-law one could ask for and her husband now my official “Gramps”, but because I spent so much time in her home.

I never got tired of looking around at everything, asking the history of this piece or that. There are the antiques from Aunt Ruby, who traveled around the world in the 40s, 50s, 60s and 70s, amassing a huge collection of memorabilia from darn near every continent. A battered tin drinking cup that belonged to my mother-in-law when she was a baby. Abstract paintings from Nigeria. A full china cabinet that we emptied and dusted super carefully. It goes on and on– I have about eight boxes of priceless family keepsakes that I can’t wait to photograph and talk about for this little project.

So, please, join me!

Send a photo or two or three to megan AT urbancasita.com. Don’t be shy! Be as detailed or as brief as you wish. I’m so excited to share your things. Because they’re never just things, right? Now I’ve got to figure out what I’m going to take a picture of this afternoon.

[photos by the talented Jeyifo(us) brothers and their fancy iPhone apps]

10 responses to “a memoir based on your stuff

  1. This is a great idea! I will participate in this one gladly! How perfect my daughter!

    Olde

  2. This sound great! Of course I would love to participate. Btw, what’s the name of the book your mother-in-law mentioned?

  3. Cool idea! & I’ll write more later, but just came across this article in the NYTs haven’t completely read it, but sounds like it’s right up this alley 🙂

    http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/07/12/how-to-lose-a-legacy/?ref=opinion&nl=opinion&emc=tya1

  4. Sharon– I’ll shoot her an email to find out!

    Sasha– great article, thank you!

    Papo– I hope you DO participate!

  5. what a great idea–sooo glad i stumbled on your blog

  6. I also want to know the name of the book. And will participate. But my choice could take a moment!

  7. Pingback: memento monday: aziza «

  8. Pingback: memento monday: megan «

  9. Pingback: memento monday: sarah m. «

Something to say?

