happy birthday nigeria!

Flag of Nigeria

October 1st is Independence Day in Nigeria, the country where my husband is from and where my father-in-law lives part time. I’m reposting some photos from their time in Naija and hope we can make a visit to Ile-Ife, the city my in-laws lived in while my husband and his brother were growing up.

If you’re in NYC, head over to another one of Freeform + Deform’s Happy Hours in celebration of Independence Day. It’s tonight at Buka.

If you’re in Chicago, stop by Rodan for a Fela Tribute. See you there!

3 responses to “happy birthday nigeria!

  1. Linda Lacy-Hodge

    I will not be there to take part in any of the celebrations of the place where one day I hope to go and study dance…..hint hint….However today in St. Croix is “Fireburn” when the enslaved people of the island led by Queen Mary, burned down the place in rebellion to unfair treatment.

    We will all celebrate today.

    Linda aka Mayimuna

  2. I remember learning about this when I taught on St Thomas! Go VI QUEENS!

  3. I love that their (your Husband and Lek’s) tradition is so rich.

Something to say?

