positive friday

One of the interns we have at work was canning today. These Farmer’s Market tomatoes will be used with our menu items throughout winter. I planned to take a whole series of photos and to jot down mk‘s process for canning veggies, but got carried away with the day and by the time I made it back to the kitchen from my little office in the basement he was all done. Here is a how-to on canning your own tomatoes if you’re into that kind of thing. I picked this recipe to link to because the blogger is from Wisconsin. Midwest is best, after all.

If I wasn’t sure about it before, seeing someone put weird looking but delicious tasting heirloom tomatoes into mason jars definitely signifies the complete end of summer. Gone are the BBQs, the tank tops and flip flops, daylight stretching past 8pm. It’s really over. Time to buy some chunky sweaters and pull the quilts out.

Have a great weekend. 70 degrees in Chicago tomorrow. I’m cheered since I won’t need a chunky sweater just yet.

7 responses to “positive friday

  1. niiiice! I’ve been doing the same here in the Pacific Northwest, but we’re definitely into sweater weather now —each season has its own beauty.

  2. Looking forward to the canning recipe. However I do not need any bulky sweaters at all as the weather here is 75 and above year round. 🙂

    • Don’t ya miss the seasonal change, though?!

    • There will be an informational event on caninng and preserving at the River Forest Public Library meeting room, 735 Lathrop Ave., on August 29 at 3 pm. This is a great opportunity for canners of all levels to get together, share ideas and inspiration and discuss the art of putting up food. Whether you have been caninng for years, or have never canned before, please join us to share your insight and wisdom, and perhaps learn a little something.

  3. I was JUST thinking about canning. I’m growing carrots myself, but I’ve been getting an abundance of them from the CSA I joined so I need to pickle them or something… Might do some tomatoes now too. Thanks for the recipe!!!

Something to say?

