do you own fine china?

china

On the road to adulthood there are many things that make you feel like a bona fide grown-up. Paying bills on time, setting an alarm clock, having a full pantry and, the latest for me: owning a serious set of china. As my mother-in-law and I gingerly packed an inherited set of dishes into sturdy boxes for the trip from Washington DC to Chicago this past summer, the patriarch of the mister’s family sternly told us that we had better put the tableware to use. And we haven’t.

I’m terrified to handle these dishes. Eat a meal off of them? Are you kidding me? It’s one thing to break a plate picked up at the thrift for sixty-five cents and quite another to shatter a serving platter tied to celebratory occasions with your husband’s great-great-great Aunt Ruby.

Do you own china? Where did it come from? Do you use it on a regular basis? How many plates have you broken? If at least one commenter has used their family’s china and not broken anything, I swear I’ll gather up the nerve to serve breakfast– even if it’s just scones from Milk & Honey— on these beauties tomorrow morning. Celebrating the fact that it’s Saturday is as good a reason as any, right?

china

8 responses to “do you own fine china?

  1. You can find replacements for at least some of this china. So, I say use it. What good is it otherwise?

  2. Linda Lacy-Hodge

    Good Morning Meagan: Don’t be afraid to use your China. During the holiday season from Thanksgiving to New Years I will use my China everyday. Take it out of display, wash them…….however I will never leave them in the dish rack. I will dry them and put them back up. I will use them for everyday guest and when they see that they are eating out of “the good stuff” they will be careful. Even for the grandkids, but they have to be served at the table and to leave the plate there so that I will come and pick it up…..wash it…..dry everything at once and then put them back up. Nothing has ever been broken or chipped.

    Good Luck

  3. I came here to post about how my mom uses hers (mine at some point) during the holidays, but it looks like she’s beat me to the punch!

    Use it.

  4. So what time is breakfast? You’ll have to get up early, Gram’s birthday party tomorrow! I brought presents for you!

Something to say?

