an urban casita christmas

an urban casita christmas
Our house is Christmas-y!  I stumbled upon the last remaining bouquet of pine boughs at our local Trader Joe’s and took it as a sign.  Along with your helpful decorating tips in my post on kitschy decorating last week, the $5.99 bouquet gave me the encouragement I needed to just get on with it over the weekend.

an urban casita christmas

I picked up my normal bouquet of alstroemeria as well, and added a few flowers to some of the vases.  As you can see from the kinda-bootleg arrangements, I do not have a calling for floral decorating.

an urban casita christmas

an urban casita christmas

Some of the vases didn’t get alstroemeria.  I just liked ’em as they were, simple and plain.

an urban casita christmas

Well, maybe not too plain. The white was a little boring and not quite cheery enough until I remembered Linda’s comment about tying ribbons around the leaves of her palm trees.

an urban casita christmas

an urban casita christmas

an urban casita christmas

I even hung ornaments with no tree!  These modish ornaments came from our Saturday IKEA trip.  They had little white ribbons attached for hanging that I removed and replaced with fishing line.

an urban casita christmas

christmas

an urban casita christmas
I think they’re high enough to keep the dog’s paws and teeth off of them. If I had been smart, I would have purchased more of these for our kitchen and living room windows. I see the mini-moible staying for bit after the holiday season is over and I’m pondering what else I can hang up seasonally. Dried flowers perhaps?

an urban casita christmas

Last but not least, a little tiny milk glass vase graces my desk, precisely where I’m sitting as I type this. A few more vases are scattered around the apartment but winter darkness snuck up on me before I got the chance to photograph them.

Milkglass vases: around $1 each
IKEA ornaments: $2.49/6
Pine: $5.99
Flowers: $5.99
Green ribbon: $2.50
Fishing line: $1.50
Listening to Christmas Pandora while I put it all together: Priceless

7 responses to “an urban casita christmas

  1. Spreading the christmas around the house….brilliant idea.

  2. Okay, now I feel inspired to decorate. Maybe. Anyway….CUTE!

  3. I like it! No room for a tree here either (and keeping cats out of it as well) so I do similar.

    I must say what caught my eye, though, was the snow outside the window! I remember those days growing up in the Midwest. We get them once in a while here in Portland (OR) as well, but I just got the memory of warm house, bone chilling cold snow outside. Stay warm!

  4. Simple and gorgeous and festive, too! A Happy New Year to you!

  5. i love the ornaments hanging in the window- what an adorable idea!
    Lauren

  6. Hi…I found you at Show Off Your Cottage. Your mantel is peferct and I love the mirror. I always tend to be symmetrical when I hang things and I think it worked peferctly here. Well done! I’m your newest follower…come visit my blog if you have time. Thanks…~Ann

  7. A great method to conserve cash on your no-fault premium is to consent to organize no-fault gains with those of your own health insurance Quotes Chimp, with medical insurance policy being first in line to pay. Believe seriously about signing up, if such coordination is accessible to you. Toward giving better wage protection in the occasion an injury makes it hopeless for you to work to yourself and while you are at it, use the saved premiums.

Something to say?

