smoked salmon & soy cream sauce recipe!

cold chicago evening at our house II

Yes, I work in a super-fancy, three-star restaurant that Zagat says you should go back to as often as possible and that Condé Nast called one of the best restaurants in the world. Yes, I eat there a lot. Yes, I watch the prep cooks chop and the line cooks sauté and and the chefs throw together extremely decadent menus on the fly. Yes, I even help write (well, more like edit) the menus. And no, I can’t really cook.

When the Mister and I started watching what we ate that had to change. It became important for us to know exactly what we were eating at all times, and making food at home became a necessity. So when I had a hankering for a cream sauce pasta I knew I couldn’t head out to a local Italian joint to get it, and that I had better research a low-calorie alternative I could pull off on my own. I had some smoked salmon left over from my breakfast one day (non-fat cottage cheese + salmon on whole wheat bread = delicious, filling, low-cal desayuno) and on a whim, popped the phrase “soy milk smoked salmon” into the Google. Up came this entry from Salon. Super happy but without a few of the ingredients — and the pasta machine it calls for as if everyone has that sort of thing hanging around their house — I modified it a bit to make it my own.

Note: There are 821 calories, or half the daily allowance for most people, in a cup of heavy cream. There are 100 calories in one cup of soy milk.

cold chicago evening at our house II

Smoked Salmon & Soy Cream Sauce
Serves Two

Ingredients
4 oz smoked salmon
2 c. whole wheat rotelle pasta
2 c. unsweetened soy milk (if all you’ve got on hand is semi-sweetened, no worries; it’s what I used tonight!)
1/2 red onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
Salt and pepper

cold chicago evening at our house II

Method
1. Cook soy milk on low heat for the amount of time it takes you too chop the onion and garlic, stirring frequently.
2. Add the onion and garlic (AKA fake shallots) to the milk. Cook over low heat until reduced to about one cup; give it ten or fifteen minutes. Keep an eye on it and stir constantly.
3. While all that’s going on, bring your water to boil for the pasta and cook for nine minutes.
4. Chop the salmon. Add it to the soy milk and season with salt and pepper.
5. Simmer for about five minutes more.
6. Toss the sauce with the pasta or serve it atop. Your choice. Both taste delicious.

cold chicago evening at our house II

Not exactly a photogenic dish but delicious all the same.

cold chicago evening at our house II

cold chicago evening at our house II

2 responses to “smoked salmon & soy cream sauce recipe!

  1. Nom! This looks amazing, thank you for sharing. I will try this! Creamy sauce pasta is probably my favorite food in the world. Too bad I can’t eat it often! We make an alternative sauce using sour cream at my household.

  2. This looks yummy. I can’t cook, but I’ll give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

Something to say?

