turquoise kitchen redux

I was in love with the kitchen in our old spot: big old sink, turquoise walls, black and white checkered floor, huge windows. We put a lot of work into making it our own and I miss it dearly. The new place is a little more well-kept and the management company much more involved, so painting our new cocina turquoise was a no-no. The walls are the same gray we chose for the entire unit which, thankfully, makes a great contrasting color for my favorite shade. The first order of business was adding bits of turquoise everywhere I could. Most of this stuff had been orange in its prior life, plain wood or metal before that. I love how easy it is to update with a can of spray paint.

kitchen

Shelf: $3, IKEA
Spray paint: Montana Gold Shock Turquoise, $6
Lotus bowls: .50 – $1.00, various thrift stores. I use these in almost every room of the house. I think I have around a dozen!
Mortar & pestle: gift from Papo
Yellow plastic sugar and cream containers: $3, rummage sale

kitchen

Vintage shaker: $5, rummage sale
Vases: $2, thrift store
Wooden bowl: $1, thrift store
Bombay Sapphire: priceless !

kitchen

Teak salt and pepper shakers: $30, A Hunted House, Washington DC
Silverware people: gift from Papo
Spice rack: $3, thrifted
Spray paint: the same Montana Gold Shock Turquoise, $6

kitchen

Hook: $4 for two, Ace Hardware
Spray paint: Again, Montana Gold Shock Turquoise, $6

kitchen

Coat rack: IKEA, $3
Spray paint: Of course, Montana Gold Shock Turquoise, $6
White cow: $8, thrift store
Wood art: $3-5, thrift stores

kitchen

Knobs: $1.49 for SIX, IKEA

And of course, the cabinet doors came off almost immediately. The bottom doors that remained got a dose of color courtesy of the cheapest knobs ever.

BEFORE
kitchen

AFTER
kitchenkitchenkitchen

When our cutlery tray proved too wide for our new drawers we were forced to improvise. These jars came from the junk store and have been used for everything: remember my mini-planter from ReadyMade? They’re perfect for spoons, forks and knives.

And that, my friends, is a turquoise-tinted kitchen. I had much better photos of the whole room put together but accidentally deleted over 150 shots from my camera. I’m hoping to find a recovery tool online lest I have to contort my body into all those weird picture-getting angles again. More of the kitchen soon…

6 responses to “turquoise kitchen redux

  1. I love your plate wall! Do you think you can do a tutorial on how to do one? Thanks!

  2. Love Montana paints and Bombay Sapphire and esp. how the kitchen looks like a new place after you took down the cabinet fronts.

  3. Pingback: La nueva - vieja cocina de Urban Casita | Decoración de Cocinas

  4. Turquoise is such a stunning color, isn’t it? I had no idea that Montana Gold produced such a lovely color. May I ask you how long it took for your shelf to “cure”? I haven’t had much luck with curing spray paint & I’m usually left with horrible little sticky spots that go dull & “sag”.

Something to say?

